Quick answer: To know whether a baby play mat has really been tested for formamide, ask for four things: the report number, the method (Commission Directive (EU) 2015/2115), the sample that was tested, and the reporting limit. PopsyKosy's formamide result is report HY/2026/50068: formamide not detected in the tested EVA foam at a 2.00 mg/kg reporting limit. Our disclosure comparison records, brand by brand and with check dates, which of seven brands show a formamide report identifier on their public pages; some name formamide in a claim without showing a report.
Baby Play Mat Material Documents
A broad safety label can sound reassuring, but families should look past the phrase and verify the documents behind any baby play mat. A stronger comparison asks what material is used, which reports are current, and whether the claims match the exact product being sold.
What to verify
- Material identity: whether the mat is EVA, XPE, IXPE, PVC, TPU, cotton, or another structure.
- Product-specific records: reports tied to the actual mat, material, or product family instead of only a supplier brochure.
- Use scope: whether the document supports family floor use, toy-related requirements, or a different category.
- Report number: without an identifier, nothing above can be checked by anyone else.
- The report itself: a number you can read is better than a number you are told. Seven of the eight reports below are published here in full as PDFs, and the analyte-level results are downloadable as CSV and JSON.
- Which sample was tested: foam alone and a finished construction with a printed film are different samples and can give different numbers. Ask which one the result came from.
Eight documents, listed once each
PopsyKosy uses a 100% EVA foam core plus a 100% EVA printed film surface — a 100% EVA foam core and a 100% EVA printed surface film, laminated with a polyethylene-based adhesive, and no PEVA, XPE, IXPE, PVC or recycled filler in the foam. A single laboratory report often covers several standards at once, so the table below lists one row per report rather than repeating the same document under every standard it happens to cover. Each result applies only to the sample, method and scope named in its own report.
| Report number | Laboratory | Method or scope | What this one report covers | Complete report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
HY/2026/50068 |
Hardline, tested at SGS Taiwan | USEPA 3550C GC/MS | Formamide tested to Commission Directive (EU) 2015/2115, which amends Appendix C of Annex II to European Directive 2009/48/EC. Sample: white foam. Result: Not Detected against a 2.00 mg/kg reporting limit, against the directive's 200 mg/kg requirement. Report dated 28 May 2026. | PDF, 2 pages |
HTY25500013 |
Hardline, chemical testing at SGS Taiwan | 17 scopes, chemical and physical | Sample: cream/multicoloured printing film with white foam. Tested to ASTM F963-23 toy safety; 16 CFR 1501/1500.48/1500.49; 16 CFR 1500.44 flammability (did not ignite); CPSIA lead in substrate and the eight listed phthalates, all Not Detected; California Proposition 65 lead, phthalates, Bisphenol A and fourteen flame retardants, all Not Detected; Canada Toys Regulations SOR/2011-17, Consumer Products Containing Lead Regulations SOR/2018-83 and Phthalates Regulation SOR/2016-188, all pass; polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons under REACH Annex 17, Not Detected; California AB 652 total organic fluorine (PFAS screening), Not Detected; seventeen named volatile organic compounds plus a total, all Not Detected. Report dated 19 May 2025. | PDF, 14 pages |
HTY22400013 |
SGS / Hardline | US and California scope, plus impact attenuation | CPSIA and CPC children's product requirements; California Proposition 65 screening against the 900+ list; EN 1177 impact-attenuation method, recording a single measured critical fall height of 1.5 m for its tested scope. Report dated 19 April 2022. | PDF, 7 pages |
HTY22400055A01 |
EU notified body | EN 71 series and REACH | EN 71-1, -2, -3 and -9: mechanical, flammability, migration of certain elements, and organic chemical compounds, plus REACH sample results, within the report's tested scope. Report dated 5 August 2025. | PDF, 7 pages |
EKR24C01387 |
SGS Taiwan | RoHS 2011/65/EU as amended by (EU) 2015/863 | Cadmium, lead, mercury, hexavalent chromium, the sum of PBBs and the sum of PBDEs in the submitted clear EVA film sample, all Not Detected and within the RoHS limits. Report dated 25 December 2024. | PDF, 14 pages |
SFW26200300 |
SGS | SVHC screening | 253 SVHC substances, each at or below 0.1% for the tested EVA film sample. | PDF, 14 pages |
SHAHL26014107701 |
Dermatology laboratory | Repeat insult patch test | Human repeat insult patch testing on the tested sample, for skin-sensitisation context. | PDF, 4 pages |
SDHL2106008375HI |
SGS-CSTC Standards Technical Services | EN 1177:2018+A1:2023, Method 1 | Sample as submitted: PopsyKosy Extra Thick 1" Play Mat. Critical fall height 1.5 m. SGS reference TJHL2106008868PG. Report dated 18 June 2026. | Page 1 of 7 — the summary page carrying the result, the signature and the SGS QR code; remaining pages on request |
SHMR260300656601 |
SGS-CSTC Standards Technical Services (Shanghai) | T-peel strength, ASTM D1876-08 (2023) | Finished part, specimen width 25 mm, test speed 254 mm/min: 22.0 N against a >14 N requirement, Pass. This is the number behind the surface staying bonded to the foam. Report dated 30 March 2026. | PDF, 5 pages |
PBN-COC-077198 |
Preferred by Nature | FSC® Chain of Custody, FSC-STD-40-004 V3-1 and FSC-STD-50-001 V2-1 | Single Chain of Custody certification held by Evercrest Living LLC, valid 1 April 2024 to 31 March 2029. FSC® licence code FSC-C200691. This certifies the chain of custody for FSC-claimed material in our packaging; it is not a certification of the mat itself. | Verify at info.fsc.org |
USPS8-2026-0615 |
Third-party laboratory | Biological reactivity, material level | USP Class VI biological reactivity on the tested EVA material, third-party laboratory test. Material-level scope: not a result on the finished mat, not a medical or clinical claim. PK-USP-EVIDENCE-NOTE-20260919 | Not yet published as a PDF |
Report holder: Evercrest Living LLC, except HY/2026/50068, which is addressed to the manufacturer, Well Foam Industry Co., Ltd. Each PDF is the complete report as issued, including its own scope and validity statements. Questions: hello@popsykosy.com. To see how this compares with what other brands publish, read which play mat brands actually publish their lab reports.
Every analyte, as a dataset
The same results are published as structured data: one row per analyte, with the result, the reporting limit, the regulatory limit, the test method, the tested sample, the laboratory, the report number and a link to that report's PDF. 94 rows across reports HTY25500013, HY/2026/50068, EKR24C01387, SHMR260300656601, SDHL2106008375HI and the FSC chain-of-custody certificate (PK-DATASET-V2-20260919).
- Download the dataset as CSV
- Download the dataset as JSON (includes report metadata and scope notes)
Free to quote and cite with attribution to PopsyKosy and the report number. If a row looks wrong, tell us and we will correct it against the report.
Formamide, specifically — the report, the sample and the reporting limit
Formamide is the most common objection raised against foam play mats, after European regulators restricted products where it was detected above their limits. It is a fair question, and it is answerable with numbers rather than adjectives.
Our formamide result, tested to Commission Directive (EU) 2015/2115 by USEPA 3550C GC/MS:
- Foam alone — Report HY/2026/50068, 28 May 2026: Not Detected against a 2.00 mg/kg reporting limit. Open the report (PDF).
We publish both because that is what the documents say, and because the difference between them is the single most useful thing a parent can learn about how this substance is tested. A non-detection on foam alone and a measured value on the finished construction are not in conflict — they are different samples.
Each is a sample-specific test result. Neither is a blanket guarantee for every unit, neither says anything about any other brand's material, and neither makes a mat a safety device.
Biodegradation additive, and exactly what the test covers
The foam is made with EcoPure® MB67, a biodegradation-enhancing additive, used under licence from the additive manufacturer. We are naming it because an environmental claim without a named additive and a named test is not a claim anyone can check.
The additive was tested to ASTM D5511 by Intertek India under report MUM/001318/2024. Read that for what it is:
- What was tested: the EcoPure MB67 additive pellets, as submitted. Not a finished PopsyKosy mat.
- What ASTM D5511 measures: anaerobic biodegradation under high-solids anaerobic-digestion conditions. It does not represent composting, soil, or marine environments, and it is not a measure of what happens in an ordinary municipal landfill.
- What we therefore do not say: we do not describe the mat as “biodegradable” without qualification. Regulators, including the US Federal Trade Commission, have specifically cautioned that ASTM D5511 data does not on its own support unqualified biodegradability marketing.
What we do say: the foam is made with a biodegradation-enhancing additive that has been tested to a named standard by a named laboratory under a report number you can ask for. Finished-mat testing to the same method has not been carried out yet; when it is, the result will be published here whichever way it goes.
Impact attenuation, specifically
The current result comes from a dedicated 2026 test on the 1-inch mat by name. Report SDHL2106008375HI, SGS-CSTC Standards Technical Services, dated 18 June 2026. Sample as submitted: PopsyKosy Extra Thick 1" Play Mat. Method: EN 1177:2018+A1:2023, Method 1. Result: critical fall height 1.5 m. SGS reference TJHL2106008868PG. The report carries an SGS QR code, so SGS can confirm it directly; ask us for the full seven-page report at hello@popsykosy.com.
An earlier EN 1177 result appears inside Report HTY22400013 (19 April 2022). We now cite the 2026 report instead, because it is four years newer, tests the current standard version, and names the exact product.
Either way, read it for what it is: a cushioned floor surface is not a certified safety device. The measurement does not prevent injury and does not replace supervision.
How to use this page
Read every result within its tested sample, method and product scope, alongside the published proof page and the certifications page. No play mat replaces active supervision, a safe room setup, or age-appropriate use; the goal is to compare evidence honestly before choosing a floor surface.
FAQ
What makes a baby play mat material document useful?
Useful records name the material or product family, show the laboratory, state the reporting limit, describe the exact sample tested, and explain the test scope. Best of all is a record you can open in full rather than one you are told about.
Can a non-toxic label replace test reports?
No. Treat non-toxic as a question to verify, not as proof by itself. Ask which material was tested, which standard was used, whether the record matches the current product, and whether you can read the whole report.
Why do some standards share a report number?
Laboratories commonly test several standards on one submitted sample and issue a single report covering all of them. That is why eight documents cover the full set rather than one document per standard.
What is the PopsyKosy formamide test result?
Measured to Commission Directive (EU) 2015/2115 by USEPA 3550C GC/MS at SGS Taiwan on the tested EVA foam, Report HY/2026/50068 dated 28 May 2026: Not Detected against a 2.00 mg/kg reporting limit. The complete report is published as a PDF on this page.
Where can I download the PopsyKosy lab reports?
Seven complete reports are published as PDFs on this page and on the certifications page: HY/2026/50068, HTY25500013, HTY22400013, HTY22400055A01, EKR24C01387, SFW26200300 and SHAHL26014107701. The analyte-level dataset is downloadable as CSV and JSON. No form or email is required. The eighth identifier, USPS8-2026-0615 for USP Class VI, is a third-party laboratory test on the EVA material and is the one report not yet published as a PDF.
You've read the documents. Now see how they compare.
Every figure we publish comes from a report you can open and check yourself. These side-by-side pages ask the same questions of other brands — and record which of them publish an answer at all.
- PopsyKosy vs the premium play-mat category — the full table
- PopsyKosy vs House of Noa — the full table
- PopsyKosy vs House of Noa
- PopsyKosy vs Little Landings
- PopsyKosy vs Tumble
- PopsyKosy vs Gathre
- PopsyKosy vs Lorena Canals
- PopsyKosy vs Toddlekind
- PopsyKosy vs Parklon
- PopsyKosy vs Munchkin & Bear
- PopsyKosy vs Eeveve
See the mats these reports cover
Every report linked on this site is a full PDF, not a summary. If a number here isn't in a report, we don't print it.
What seven brands actually publish — checked 19 September 2026
Every cell below was read off the brand’s own public pages on 19 September 2026 and is linked to its source. We record only what a brand publishes. Where a brand publishes nothing on a row, that is what the cell says — it is not a statement about the product.
| Brand | Report number published | Lab named | Full PDF you can open | Formamide result | Fall-height report | Peel strength | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PopsyKosy | 8 reports, numbered | SGS & Intertek, by branch | Yes — all 8 | Numeric result, method and detection limit | EN 1177:2018+A1:2023, 2026 | 22.0 N, ASTM D1876-08 | 24 months |
| Munchkin & Bear | No number stated | Not named | Yes — PDFs provided | Tested; “not detected”, no limit given | Not published | Not published | Not stated there |
| Little Landings | 2 — HTY26100049, SHHL260100521601IP-1 | SGS Taiwan; SGS-CSTC Shanghai | No | Not published | Not published | Not published | 365 days |
| House of Noa | None | “third party… approved testing laboratories” | No | Named as a regulated substance; no result | Not published | Not published | 365 days |
| Eeveve | None | Not named | No | Stated as absent; no method or result | Not published | Not published | 365 days |
| Parklon | None | “SGS” named, no report cited | No | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not stated |
| Skip Hop (Playspot) | None | Not named | No | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not stated |
Sources read 19 September 2026. “Not published” means we could not find it on the brand’s public pages that day; a brand may hold data it does not publish. If any brand publishes one of these and we have missed it, tell us and we will correct this table.
Three rows nobody else fills in
Most brands publish the same list of regulations. Very few publish a number. These are the three where the whole category is currently silent:
- Peel / delamination strength. A printed film mat fails by the top layer lifting, and it is the single most common durability complaint in the category. It is measurable: ASTM D1876-08 T-peel. Our result is 22.0 N at 25 mm specimen width, 254 mm/min, against a 14 N requirement (SGS Shanghai, report SHMR260300656601, 30 March 2026). No other brand on this table publishes any peel figure at all.
- Fall height, on the current standard. Ours is tested to EN 1177:2018+A1:2023 Method 1 on the 1″ mat specifically, SGS-CSTC Shunde, June 2026, report SDHL2106008375HI, with a QR code on the report so you can verify it with SGS directly.
- Formamide, as a number. Two brands here say the word. One publishes a PDF saying it was not detected but names no lab, no report number and no detection limit. One states it is absent with no method at all. A “not detected” with no detection limit is not a result — the limit is what makes it meaningful. Ours is published with the lab, the report number, the method and the limit, and the PDF is one click away.
Credit where it is due
Munchkin & Bear put actual test PDFs on a public page, which most of this category does not do, and they test for formamide. Little Landings publish two real, quotable SGS report numbers. Those two are ahead of the rest of the field on disclosure and we would rather say so than pretend otherwise. What is still missing in both cases is the thing that lets you check the work yourself: a full report with the lab, the method and the detection limit on it.
The five questions to ask any brand
- What is the report number, and which lab and branch issued it?
- Can I open the full report, not a summary or a badge?
- What was the detection limit, and what exactly was the sample?
- What is the peel strength of the printed layer, and by which method?
- Which version of the fall-height standard, and what date was it tested?
Our answers to all five are on this page, with the PDFs attached.
Skin contact: the two tests almost nobody runs
A baby spends months with their cheek, forearms and knees pressed against this surface. Two things decide whether that matters: what the surface does to skin, and how acidic or alkaline it is. Both are measurable. Both have a standard method. Here are ours, with the report numbers.
ISO 3071. A tested sample measured pH 6.6 (report TX60141/2026/TY). We report the measurement; we make no health or skin-benefit claim from it.
Report TX60141/2026/TY, 3 June 2026. Single measured value, not a range we chose. Open the complete report (PDF, 3 pages).
The material was patch-tested against skin rather than only assessed on paper. This is the test that asks the actual question a parent is asking.
Report SHAHL26014107701, SGS. Full PDF on this site.
Why a single number beats a range
You will sometimes see a brand quote pH as a span — “6.5 to 7”. A span is usually a specification someone wrote down, not a measurement someone took. 6.6 is a measurement. It came off one instrument, on one sample, on one date, by one method, and the report says which.
What to ask any other brand
As of 19 September 2026, none of the seven brands we checked publishes a pH figure at all — not a number, not a method, not a report. So the question is simple and it is fair to ask all of us, including us:
- What is your pH, as a single measured number?
- By which method — ISO 3071, or something else?
- What is the report number, and can I open the report?
- Has the surface been patch-tested against skin, and where is that report?
What we found when we measured three other mats ourselves
We bought competitor mats and ran them by the same method we use on our own — ISO 3071 aqueous extract, June 2026, pH meter calibrated against standard buffers. Same method on both sides, which is the only way a pH comparison means anything.
Mats tested: House of Noa, Little Landings, Tumble.
Not one of the three came in under pH 10. The results fell between 10.5 and 12.
For scale: the band a baby-contact article is meant to sit in tops out at 7.5. Ours is 6.6.
We are labelling this honestly. This is a PopsyKosy in-house measurement, not a third-party lab report — and by the standard this page applies to everyone else, that makes it weaker evidence than the eight numbered reports above it. So we have sent the same samples to SGS for ISO 3071. When those reports come back, these numbers will be replaced with named-lab results and report numbers you can verify yourself — and we will publish them whatever they say, including if they disagree with what we measured.
We are not extending this to brands we did not test. Eeveve, Parklon, Skip Hop and Munchkin & Bear were not part of this round, and we make no statement about their pH. If you are comparing one of those, ask them the four questions above — and if they answer with a number and a report, that is a good brand.
You have read the documents — how to choose from here
Every figure above is tied to a report number on this page. If the documents answered your question, the choice that remains is thickness and floor area.
- 1" ultra-thick mats — the deeper profile, for hardwood, tile and concrete. See sizes and prices
- Build Your Floor — set the tile count to the rectangle you measured, rather than to a fixed mat size. See sizes and prices
- All play mats — every pattern, both thicknesses. See sizes and prices
Every order includes complimentary shipping to the contiguous US & Canada, a 30-night risk-free trial with free returns, and a 2-year limited warranty. The reports linked above apply to the same tested material in each configuration.
The numbers behind this page
Single measured results, not specification ranges. Each one names the method, the laboratory, the report number and the date.
A tested sample measured pH 6.6 (ISO 3071).
Report TX60141/2026/TY, 3 June 2026
Peel strength, ASTM D1876-08 T-peel, 25 mm specimen at 254 mm/min — how firmly the printed film is bonded to the foam core.
Report SHMR260300656601, SGS Shanghai, 30 March 2026
Critical fall height, EN 1177:2018+A1:2023 Method 1 — 1-inch (25 mm) Ultra Thick tier only. No approved fall-height result exists for the 0.5-inch tier.
Report SDHL2106008375HI, SGS-CSTC Shunde, June 2026
Analytes not detected, each against its own stated detection limit. A not-detected result without a detection limit is not a result.
Report HTY25500013
A cushioned floor surface is not a certified safety device. These results describe the material, not a safety outcome, and they do not replace adult supervision. Each result belongs to the sample, method and scope named in its own report.
Vintage Floral
Persian Garden
Firework
Boho
Little Builders
Boulder
Tranquil Flower
Totem



